Adryan's POV
Adryan's POV Podcast
Reflecting on "Exploring Whether Bob's Burgers Is Based Off My Hometown of Ocean City, New Jersey"
0:00
-19:43

Reflecting on "Exploring Whether Bob's Burgers Is Based Off My Hometown of Ocean City, New Jersey"

Here's what I wanted to cover, but didn't, in my previous essay on Bob's Burgers and my hometown of Ocean City, New Jersey.

Photo credit: Todd DeSantis via Unsplash / Shore Local News / Adryan Corcione

In this episode, I discuss what research findings didn’t make it into my essay, Exploring Whether Bob's Burgers Is Based Off My Hometown of Ocean City, New Jersey. Read the essay if you haven’t already—although it isn’t required reading to listen to this podcast episode!

While editing this episode, I realize I never answered my own question of why Ocean City’s Blue Law was overturned. I couldn’t find a straightforward answer in my research, however, I did find this Washington Post article drawing attention to the inconsistencies of the policy:

“[Ocean City shop owner Ed Devlin] said the problem in Ocean City is that the blue law is "only half a blue law." In the Pennsylvania Dutch country to the west, where he is from, Hart said a blue law means everything is closed on Sunday. In Ocean City, which was founded by four Methodist preachers in 1879, an attempt had been made to compromise, he said. In city hall, Mayor Roy Gillian appeared beleaguered. As mayor, he said he wants to be neutral. But he is also a businessman, owner of amusement arcades on the boardwalk. He said he and many of the other business owners increased profits by about 15 percent to 20 percent last summer because of the freewheeling Sundays.”

Sources

  1. Barlow, Bill. “Sunday Closing Laws Once Divided the Community, and Put Ocean City in the National Spotlight.” Shore Local News, 11 Dec. 2020.

  2. The New York Times. "Jersey Supreme Court Upholds 'Blue Laws.'" The New York Times, 24 July 1986, https://www.nytimes.com/1986/07/24/nyregion/jersey-supreme-court-upholds-blue-laws.html. Accessed 6 Oct. 2023.

  3. The Beach Censor. British Pathé, 1925.

  4. Miller, Fred. "Ocean City: America's Greatest Family Resort (The Making of America Series)." September 16, 2003.

0 Comments
Adryan's POV
Adryan's POV Podcast
behind the scenes conversations on writing and craft
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Adryan Corcione